

GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

OF THE

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA

R0,50

WINDHOEK — 26 October 1992

No. 509

CONTENTS

Page

1

PROCLAMATION

No. 44 Announcement in terms of article 32(8) of the Namibian Constitution of appointment of members of Electoral Commission and Director of Elections in terms of Electoral Act, 1992

PROCLAMATION

by the

PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA

No. 44

1992

ANNOUNCEMENT IN TERMS OF ARTICLE 32(8) OF THE NAMIBIAN CONSTITUTION OF APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF ELECTORAL COMMISSION AND DIRECTOR OF ELECTIONS IN TERMS OF ELECTORAL ACT, 1992

In terms of sub-article (8) of Article 32 of the Namibian Constitution, I hereby announce that I have, under the powers vested in me by subarticle (3)(i)(ee) of that Article and -

(a) section 5 of the Electoral Act, 1992 (Act 24 of 1992), with the approval of the National Assembly by resolution adopted on 31 August 1992, appointed the following persons as members of the Electoral Commission, namely -

- (i) the Honourable Mr Justice GJC Strydom, who shall be the Chairperson;
- (ii) Dr Kenneth G Abrahams;
- (iii) Ms Inge Murangi;
- (iv) Mr Martin Neib; and
- (v) Mr Martin L Shipanga; and
- (b) section 11(1) of the Electoral Act, 1992 (Act 24 of 1992), appointed, with effect from 31 August 1992, Prof. Gerhard K.H. Tötemeyer as Director of Elections in the Office of the Prime Minister.

Given under my Hand and the Seal of the Republic of Namibia at Windhoek this 29th day of September, One Thousand Nine Hundred and Ninety-two.

Sam Nujoma President PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA