

GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

OF THE

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA

R0,60

WINDHOEK — 14 December 1992

No. 550

CONTENTS

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

No. 182 Administrative Directive: Certain guidelines for Government Ministers and Public Servants

Government Notice

OFFICE OF THE PRIME MINISTER

No. 182

1992

ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE: CERTAIN GUIDELINES FOR GOVERNMENT MINISTERS AND PUBLIC SERVANTS

The following Administrative Directive (No. 2 of 1992) was issued by the Right Honourable Prime Minister on 24 November 1992 to Government Ministers and Public Servants:

Page

I

Administrative Directive No. 2/1992

24 November 1992

1. Preparation of Cabinet Agenda

Of late, the Prime Minister has noticed that some of the Cabinet Memoranda referred to the Cabinet Office for placement on Cabinet Agenda do not conform to the requirements set out in the Cabinet Handbook. As a result, there is marked increase in the incidence of issues referred back from the Cabinet.

In order to avoid such instances, all Permanent Secretaries should ensure that Cabinet Memoranda submitted to the Cabinet Office are prepared in conformity with the provisions set out in the Cabinet Handbook.

Specifically, the Permanent Secretaries should ensure that:

- 1. Cabinet Memoranda are prepared after the necessary consultation with the various ministries or offices affected by or having an interest in the issues being referred to the Cabinet for decision;
- 2. the Memoranda are unambiguous. They must be very specific as to the Cabinet decisions being sought. This requires that the Memoranda must contain specific recommendations -- it is not sufficient merely to present a problem to the Cabinet for a decision without proposing course of action or actions; and
- 3. comments sought from the various ministries by the Minister(s) sponsoring a Cabinet Memorandum are provided speedily to avoid unnecessary delay in the submission of the memorandum to the Cabinet.

The Secretary to Cabinet has been instructed strictly to enforce the procedural guidelines and not place on Cabinet Agenda any Cabinet Memoranda that do not conform to the established guidelines.

2. Official Names of Regions of Namibia

It has been brought to the notice of the Office of the Prime Minister that there is some confusion amongst the government employees about the names of the various regions of the country. This confusion is perhaps the result of many government employees not being aware of the change of names and boundaries of the regions on 3 March 1992 when the President proclaimed (Proclamation No 6 of 1992) the various regions in accordance with recommendations of the report of the First Delimitation Commission.

In order to avoid any confusion, the government employees should take note that according to Proclamation No 6 of 1992, Namibia is divided into thirteen and not fourteen regions. The names of these thirteen regions are as follows:

Region No. 1	Kunene Region
Region No. 2	Omusati Region
Region No. 3	Oshana Region
Region No. 4	Ohangwena Region
Region No. 5	Oshikoto Region
Region No. 6	Okavango Region
Region No. 7	Liambezi Region
Region No. 8	Erongo Region
Region No. 9	Othozondjupa Region
Region No. 10	Omaheke Region
Region No. 11	Khomas Region
Region No. 12	Hardap Region
Region No. 13	Karas Region

Boundaries of these regions are specified in Proclamation No. 6 of 1992.

All government employees should ensure that these new names of regions are used when referring to any of the regions of the country.

3. Use of Names of Constituencies

The boundaries of constituencies in the various regions were established by Proclamation No. 25 of 1992. The said proclamation established the names of the constituencies as follows:

Region No. 1: Kunene Region Ruacana Constituency Opuwo Constituency Sesfontein Constituency Khorixas Constituency Kamanjab Constituency Outjo Constituency

Region No. 2: Omusati Region Onesi Constituency Tsandi Constituency Uutapi Constituency Anamulenge Constituency Ogongo Constituency Okalongo Constituency Oshikuku Constituency Elim Constituency Okahao Constituency

Region No. 3: Oshana Region Oshakati Constituency Ongwediva Constituency Okaku Constituency Okatana Constituency Ondangwa Constituency Ompundja Constituency Uukwiyu Constituency Okatjali Constituency Uuvudhiya Constituency

Region No. 4: Ohangwena Region Ongenga Constituency Engela Constituency Oshikango Constituency Ondobe Constituency Eenhana Constituency Omundaungilo Constituency Okongo Constituency Ohangwena Constituency Endola Constituency Epembe Constituency

Region No. 5: Oshikoto Region Oniipa Constituency Onayena Constituency Olukonda Constituency Omuntele Constituency Okatope Constituency Okankolo Constituency Omuthiyagwiipundi Constituency Engodi Constituency Guinas Constituency Oshikoto Constituency

Region No. 6: Okavango Region Mpungu Constituency Kahenge Constituency Kapako Constituency Rundu Constituency Mashari Constituency Ndiyona Constituency

5

Region No. 7: Caprivi Region Mukwe Constituency Kongola Constituency Linyandi Constituency Sibinda Constituency Katima Mulilo Constituency Kabe Constituency

Region No. 8: Erongo Region Omaruru Constituency Karibib Constituency Brandberg Constituency Arandis Constituency Swakopmund Constituency Walvis Bay Constituency

Region No. 9: Otjozondjupa Region Grootfontein Constituency Otavi Constituency Okakarara Constituency Otjiwarongo Constituency Okahandja Constituency Omatako Constituency

Region No. 10: Omaheke Region Otjinene Constituency Otjozondjou Constituency Steinhausen Constituency Gobabis Constituency Buitepos Constituency Aminuis Constituency

Region No. 11: Khomas Region Wanaheda Constituency Hakahana Constituency Katutura East Constituency Katutura Central Constituency Soweto Constituency Khomasdal North Constituency Windhoek West Constituency Windhoek Rural Constituency

Region No. 12: Hardap Region Rehoboth West Urban Constituency Rehoboth East Urban Constituency Rehoboth Rural Constituency Mariental Rural Constituency Mariental Urban Constituency Gibeon Constituency Region No. 13: Karas Region Keetmanshoop Urban Constituency Berseba Constituency Lüderitz Constituency Oranjemund Constituency Karasburg Constituency Keetmanshoop Rural Constituency

Boundaries of these constituencies are specified in Proclamation No. 25 of 1992.

All government employees should ensure that these new names of constituencies are used when referring to constituencies in the various regions of the country.